IAD staff and contact email addresses

Contact details for our core staff, plus generic contact email addresses for a range of enquiries.

Getting in touch with us

The Institute for Academic Development continues to offer a mix of online and on-campus activities to staff and students. Do check workshop and event information carefully when booking, to be sure of the mode of delivery.

Institute for Academic Development staff are working in a hybrid manner with most staff working part-time on-campus. For enquiries it is generally best to contact staff by email in the first instance. It is generally best to visit the IAD building in person only if you have been invited in for a specific meeting, appointment or to attend a workshop in our building you have pre-booked to attend.

Our address

Institute for Academic Development

Contact details

HTML

Contact us through an online sign language interpreter

British Sign Language (BSL) users can contact the University of Edinburgh via Contact Scotland BSL, the online British Sign Language video relay interpreting service.

Find out more on the Contact Scotland BSL website


Institute for Academic Development staff

If you are not sure who to contact, please use our generic contact email list further down the page, and select the email contact that best fits your enquiry.

If you are a UoE student with a question about credit-bearing courses in your subject area or looking for advice about options courses, please contact your Student Adviser.

IAD Co-Directors

Name Role Email
Prof Catherine Bovill

Co-Director, Institute for Academic Development / Personal Chair of Student Engagement in Higher Education

catherine.bovill@ed.ac.uk
Olivia Eadie Co-Director, Institute for Academic Development olivia.eadie@ed.ac.uk
  Directors' PA IAD.Director@ed.ac.uk
     
Please note    

Dr Jon Turner is on a 2-year internal secondment.

Please now contact Catherine Bovill & Olivia Eadie for IAD Director matters on the IAD.Director@ed.ac.uk email address

Curriculum Transformation Project Lead J.D.Turner@ed.ac.uk

Learning and Teaching team

Name Role Email
Professor Velda McCune

Personal Chair of University Education

Deputy Director, IAD | Head of Learning and Teaching team

velda.mccune@ed.ac.uk
Dr Aaron Allen Academic Developer, Taught Students aaron.allen@ed.ac.uk
Dr Hazel Christie

Head of the CPD Framework for Learning and Teaching / Senior Lecturer

hazel.christie@ed.ac.uk
Dr Jackie Dohaney Academic Developer j.dohaney@ed.ac.uk
Callum Ferguson Study Development Advisor callum.ferguson@ed.ac.uk

Joséphine Foucher

Teaching Matters and Student Engagement PhD Intern josephine.foucher@ed.ac.uk
Sylvia Joshua Western Teaching Matters blog and podcast PhD Intern sjoshua@ed.ac.uk
Lesley Kelly Academic Developer lesley.kelly@ed.ac.uk
Dr Neil Lent Lecturer (University Learning and Teaching) n.lent@ed.ac.uk
Dr Jenna Mann Academic Developer jenna.mann@ed.ac.uk
Celeste McLaughlin

Head of Academic Development for Digital Education

celeste.mclaughlin@ed.ac.uk
Dr Donna Murray Head of Taught Student Development donna.murray@ed.ac.uk
Emily Salvesen

CPD Programme Manager

emily.salvesen@ed.ac.uk
Dr Jenny Scoles Academic Developer, Learning and Teaching Enhancement jenny.scoles@ed.ac.uk
Clair Sweeney Academic Developer clair.sweeney@ed.ac.uk
Victoria Tait Academic Developer victoria.tait@ed.ac.uk

Researcher Development team

Name Role Email
Dr Fiona Philippi Assistant Director, IAD | Head of Researcher Development team

fiona.philippi@ed.ac.uk

Nicola Cuthbert Researcher Development Manager n.cuthbert@ed.ac.uk
Dr Darcey Gillie Research Staff Careers Consultant darcey.gillie@ed.ac.uk
Eleanor Hennige Research Staff Careers Consultant eleanor.hennige@ed.ac.uk
Alex Peden Head of Research Cultures alex.peden@ed.ac.uk
Dr Anna Pilz Academic Developer and Trainer: Researcher Development anna.pilz@ed.ac.uk
Dr Lindsay Randall Academic Developer Researcher Development lindsay.randall@ed.ac.uk
Dr Emily Woollen Academic Developer: Researcher Development e.woollen@ed.ac.uk
     
Future Leader Fellows Development Network    
Dr Sara Shinton Director, Future Leader Fellows Development Network sara.shinton@ed.ac.uk
Bridget Mellifont Community Manager – Future Leader Fellows Development Network b.mellifont@ed.ac.uk
Dr Katie Nicoll Baines EDI Manager – Future Leaders Fellows Development Network k.nicollbaines@ed.ac.uk

Operations and Projects team

Name Role Email
Cheryl Thomas Deputy Head Operations and Projects cheryl.thomas@ed.ac.uk
Yulia Abramova Project Manager - Future Leader Fellows Development Network yulia.abramova@ed.ac.uk
Clare Barrie Communications Officer - Future Leaders Fellows Development Network clare.barrie@ed.ac.uk
Lainey Bridge Content Development and Communications Officer lainey.bridge@ed.ac.uk
Gaby Calvert Senior Admin Officer - Future Leaders Fellows Development Network gcalvert@ed.ac.uk
Sam Canning Senior Events Officer sam.canning@ed.ac.uk
Julie Daubenspeck Senior Events Officer

julie.daubenspeck@ed.ac.uk

Kirsty French Events Coordinator - Future Leaders Fellows Development Network kfrench2@ed.ac.uk
Louise Gorse Events Officer louise.gorse@ed.ac.uk
Sonia Hadj Said Senior Administrative Officer CPD and Finance

sonia.hadjsaid@ed.ac.uk

Finance: iad.finance@ed.ac.uk

Corrie Jackson-Levrier Events Officer corrie.jackson@ed.ac.uk
Louise McKay Events Operations and Doctoral Programme Manager louise.mckay@ed.ac.uk
Karsten Moerman IT Manager karsten.moerman@ed.ac.uk
Carla Perera Events Officer carla.perera@ed.ac.uk
Natalie Poyser

Senior Admin Officer – Business Operations

natalie.poyser@ed.ac.uk
Brendan Sweeney Events Officer bsweeney@ed.ac.uk
  Campus phone number to reach the events admin team rota desk - Tel +44 (0)131 651 6662  

Contact email addresses for specific enquiries

These in-boxes are checked by various IAD staff.

Nature of enquiry Email inbox (monitored by IAD staff)

IAD workshops and resources for undergraduate students and taught postgraduates. (Not 1-1 study skills advice).

iad.students@ed.ac.uk

IAD 1-1 study skills advice appointments only. (For undergraduate and taught postgraduate students.)

iad.study@ed.ac.uk

IAD workshops, events and resources for postgraduate research students, including the 3 Minute Thesis competition.

iad.phd@ed.ac.uk

IAD workshops and resources for academic research staff and Principal Investigators, including the Get Connected Welcome Event for new academics.

iad.researchers@ed.ac.uk
IAD careers support for research staff (including career development consultations) ResearchStaff.Careers@ed.ac.uk

IAD workshops, resources and network for postgraduate research supervisors, including our Supervisor Briefing sessions.

iad.phdsupervisors@ed.ac.uk

IAD workshops and resources for tutors and demonstrators

iad.tutdem@ed.ac.uk

IAD workshops, events, staff networks, resources and online guidance for staff in learning and teaching roles.

iad.teach@ed.ac.uk

Continuing Professional Development Framework for Learning and Teaching, routes to gaining AdvanceHE Fellowship, and the Edinburgh Teaching Award (EdTA).

iad.cpdframework@ed.ac.uk

The Postgradute Certificate in Academic Practice (PgCAP), including from prospective and on-programme students.

iad.pgcert@ed.ac.uk
The Introduction to Academic Practice course, including from prospective and on-programme participants. iad.introAP@ed.ac.uk

Questions about and applying to the Principal's Teaching Award Scheme funding

iad.ptas@ed.ac.uk
Questions about and applying to the Student Partnership Agreement funding scheme spa@ed.ac.uk

Enquiries about the University’s Learning and Teaching Conference

lt.conference@ed.ac.uk